Barn Yard Animal Cupcake Toppers

This weeks order was an absolute joy!  Tiny barn yard animal cupcake toppers and a barn smash cake gave me the creative outlet I’ve been craving for the last few weeks.  A friend of mine threw a party today for his son’s first birthday complete with 4 dozen cupcakes topped with handmade pigs, cows, horses and chicks and finished off with a jumbo cupcake decorated like a barn.  Look at just how perfect his party turned out:

img_4290Here’s how I made the toppers!

Pigs:

I used store bought fondant for these since I wanted a very vibrant color.  Homemade marshmallow fondant doesn’t tend to take color as bright and dark as what I wanted for these animals.

img_4248.jpg

I wanted a slightly lighter color of pink so I kneaded the white and pink together until I got the perfect piggy color.

img_4249.jpg

After rolling out the pink fondant, I cut out 12 circles using a round cookie cutter the approximate size of the top of a cupcake.

img_4252

Next, I used a small star cookie cutter to cut out 5 stars of pink fondant.  I then cut the triangle tips off of each star to use as ears for the pigs.

img_4255

img_4256.jpg

Next, using wide end of a piping tip, I cut out 12 small circles of the original dark colored pink fondant for the snouts of the pigs.

img_4257

img_4259

I attached the pieces to the face using what I call Fondant Slip.  If you’ve ever worked with pottery or clay before you are probably familiar with slip. Slip is a watered down mixture that is used a glue.  To make fondant slip, simply take a ball of fondant a little smaller than the size of a grape and microwave it in a bowl with about 2 tablespoons of water.  Once the fondant is completely melted into the water, you have fondant slip!

And lastly, using and food safe marker, I drew on nostrils and two eyes!

img_4261

Cows:

For the cows faces, I simply rolled out a sheet of white fondant and a sheet of black fondant.  Then using a scalloped cookie cutter, I cut out some small black scalloped circles.  Next, I placed the black pieces on top of the white and used a small rolling pin to stretch and combine the back into the white to create spots.

Using the same circle cutter that I used for the pigs heads, I cut out 12 cows heads.

img_4266

Next, using the same piping tip, I cut out 24 circles for ears.  Then using my index finger and thumb I pinched together one side of the circle.

Using the same piping tip, I cut out 12 light pink (pig colored) circles for noses.  Using fondant slip, I attached the ears and nose to the faces.  Lastly, using a cake pop stick, I imprinted two nostrils into the nose and used the food safe marker to draw on a smile and eyes.

img_4269

Baby Chicks:

Using the same round circle cutter, I cut 24 circles out of yellow fondant. 12 of these circles were the faces, the other 12 I used the scalloped circle cutter to cut pieces of the circles into wings.

img_4272

img_4273

After attaching the wings with fondant slip, I drew on a face and feet with food safe markers.

img_4274.jpg

Horses:

The horses were the most difficult for me to figure out how to piece together to look correctly.  I started with rolling out a sheet of chocolate fondant and cutting out 12 circles for the top portion of the head.

Next, I created a lighter tan color by kneading some white and chocolate fondant together.  I then used a smaller circle cutter to cut 12 noses and used the piping tip to cut 24 ears.  I folded the ears the same way I did for the cows by pinching together one end of the circle. Using the star cutter, I cut out some black stars and trimmed the tips off to use as the mane between the ears.

I placed the nose of the horse hanging slightly off of the face to created a longer looking head.  After attaching the nose, ears and mane, I used a food safe marker to draw on eyes  and a smile.  Then used the cake pop stick to press nostrils into the nose.

img_4276

Once I had all the toppers done, I let them sit over night to slightly harden before applying them to the cupcakes.  I am so pleased with how these little guys turned out!  Not only were they fun to make, but they are an adorable EDIBLE topper to complete this barn yard themed party.

img_4286

 

Leave a comment